Wanlin (Caitlyn) Chu and Dane Luo

Statement on racial attacks to Asian students
CW: racial abuse. The Vice Presidents strongly condemn the racial abuse on Asian students on 8 October 2019. Asian students have been racially abused and targeted with Sinophobic slurs by a man near the Wentworth building. We call on the University to take all steps to ensure the safety of students on their own campus. We will continue to demand zero tolerance towards racism, intimidation or abuse on this campus. Any behaviour that is racist, intimidating, abusive or threatening should not be tolerated.

Drop-in Sessions with your Vice Presidents
We will be moving our weekly drop-in sessions to the entrance of Fisher Library on Thursdays from 1pm to 3pm. Come drop by and speak to your Vice Presidents so we can be better informed about your issues on campus.

90th Anniversary Celebration
As you may have seen from our previous reports, the SRC is hosting a 90th Anniversary Celebration on Thursday 5 December 2019 from 6pm to 8pm in the Refectory, Holme Building. The guest speaker for this event is the Honourable Michael Kirby AC CMG and Ms Avani Dias. The MC will be Dominic Knight. Details of tickets and more information can be found on www.srcusyd.net.au/90Anniversary.

What we’ve been up to recently?
Over the past two weeks, we have been very busy with the SRC’s SSAF application. You might wonder: what is this? Each year, every student pays the Student Services and Amenities Fee (SSAF). The University has a process where the total pool of funds get distributed to your student organisations, including the SRC, USU, Cumberland Student Guild and SUSF. Each year, we make an application to contest for this pool of funds. For the SRC, SSAF funds 97% of our activities. We have been consulting the newly-elected President on the funds needed for the 92nd Council. This year has been particularly difficult because we have renegotiated a new Enterprise Bargaining Agreement and more contestable projects. We have also continued representing undergraduate students at the University’s Research Education, Student Life and WHS committees.